In 1930, Edwin “Whitey” Larson built the first stainless steel horseshoe bar, in the U.S.A. Thus his bar was named “Whitey’s Wonderbar.” Made in the days of Prohibition, the bar still resides at Sickies Garage Burgers & Brews in downtown East Grand Forks. And in 1939, was featured in the Saturday Evening Post and Time Magazine, for its unique art deco design.
Image found in A Meeting of the Reds: East Grand Forks 1887-1987, Volume 2. Page 299.
For more information, visit Whitey’s Underground website.
Browse our RRV Special Collection at the library for more Red River Valley history!